Ghost Hunt Sequel: Akumu no Sumu Ie (The Nightmare Dwelling)

Title: Akumu no Sumu Ie: Ghost Hunt, The House in Which Nightmares Dwell, The House of Nightmares – Ghost Hunt, 悪夢の棲む家 ゴーストハント

Author: ONO Fuyumi

Artist: INADA Shiho

Publisher: Kodansha, 2012

Genre: Horror, Josei, Mystery, Supernatural

Summary from Wonderland After Hours:

Midori’s mother has finally acquired her dream home, but it isn’t long before supernatural phenomenas disrupt the peace of the family. And if unexplained electricity failures, strange phone calls, and the eerie presence of spirits weren’t enough, finding unexplainable blood in the bathroom becomes the last straw. Mai and Shibuya Psychic Research are brought in to investigate, but what horrors will they find in the ‘dream’ home that turns out to be nothing but a nightmare?

Akumu no Sumu Ie – Ghost Hunt is based on a sequel novel of the original Ghost Hunt novel, set several months in the future.

Aiyaaa! I just found out last Sunday that my favorite horror/mystery manga, Ghost Hunt, sequel has already been scanlated in MangaFox. (Yes, I know it’s illegal but I can’t help it.) I have waited for its release ever since I heard that Fuyumi-san is going to make a manga sequel of her famous novel Ghost Hunt’s sequel, The White Heart Series. I have searched everywhere for the online translations of the novel, but to no avail. Finally, the long wait is over! Even though I can’t find any online translations, at least there’s the online manga scanlations!

I just love this manga series! The manga is drawn simple but the plot line is very enticing and addictive. Once I start, I can’t stop. It is one of those mangas that you didn’t want to end. The kind that you’d read over and over without getting sick of it. Also the kind of manga you can’t get enough of and went through all the trouble of: finding the novel translations, watching the anime, and trying to get any related material.

I really recommend this to manga readers who are also into horror and mystery. The first 2 chapters are released and I can’t wait for the next chapter!

Have you ever encountered a manga that you didn’t want to end? The kind where you’d read it over and over without getting sick of it? The kind that you’d go through all the trouble of finding, reading, and watching anything related to it? Do share!

6 comments

  1. I know I love the anime and the Manga, I’m just so bumed out they didn’t continue the anime. I hope they do though, that would be awesome.

    1. Hi Rade,
      Me too! That’s why I just usually stick to reading mangas. The bum thing about reading mangas is when they don’t get translated into English or when it goes on a hiatus or gets cancelled. 😦

Leave a Reply

